What Happens When You Restrict Someone?

Will someone know if I restrict them on Instagram?

While it’s obvious to someone when they’ve been blocked — because they can no longer find that user on the platform — it won’t be obvious when they’ve been restricted.

They will see that user’s posts in their feed like they usually do.

But they will no longer see when the user is online or has read their messages..

What happens when you restrict a friend?

When you add someone to the Facebook restricted list, you remain friends with them while limiting the posts they’re able to see. They will only see your posts if you’ve set the audience to “Public” (indicated by the globe icon), if they’re tagged in it or if a mutual friend tags both of you in the post.

How do you know if someone has turned off their activity on Instagram?

To see someone’s online status when their activity status is turned off, try sending them a direct message. It will show when they were active or if that time they are active. Otherwise, there is no easy way to see that. Try following their activity, whoever they follow, like or comment on profile and see the time.

What happens when you restrict someone on Instagram?

The “Restrict” option gives users more control over what comments their followers see on each of their posts. Instagram users can now “restrict” any chosen individual, which gives a few, immediate perks. If a user chooses to restrict any individual, all of their future comments will be invisible to the public.

Can you stop someone from seeing your Instagram posts without blocking?

Unfortunately, there is no way you can prevent a certain person from seeing your Instagram post expect blocking them. But about stories, you can easily hide your stories from certain people either by hiding them or making a close friend list of people who are close to you.

Can a restricted person post on my wall?

Click the “Edit Settings” link to the right of the “How You Connect” heading. Click the drop-down menu to the right of “Who can post on your wall.” Choose a setting from this menu to set whether friends can post.

How do you block certain friends from seeing your posts?

Just click the button immediately to the left of the blue “Post” button when typing a status update. Just like using the Privacy Settings page, you can choose to block individual people from seeing the post using the “custom” option. Think of it as giving your boss a brief social timeout.

Can restricted friends see what others post on my wall?

If you comment on a page then that is public (except for any geographic or age restrictions set by the page admin) and even non-friends can see it. If you post on your wall/timeline then you control who can see it; if you post to Public then even those on your Restricted list will see it.

What does restrict on IG mean?

Instagram is rolling out a new mode called “Restrict” that will let account owners effectively shadow ban a user who comments on photos with offensive or abusive language. … Any attempt to send a direct message will move to a message request, according to Instagram, and notifications won’t be sent.

How do I know if someone has restricted me?

How can I tell if a friend has restricted me from seeing their posts? The only way you can tell for sure is to ask someone else if they can see any posts from that person. If they can see posts that you can’t, then you’ll know that person has blocked you from seeing their posts.

Can you hide Instagram posts from someone?

Despite the posts shared on feed, Instagram lets users hide their stories from certain followers. Actually, to hide a story from people, you can block them just like you did to hide posts. Moreover, if you change your privacy status to private, only people who follow you can see your stories.

When you restrict someone on Facebook What can they see?

When you add someone to your Restricted list, you’ll still be friends with them on Facebook, but they’ll only be able to see your public information (example: your posts and profile info you choose to make public) and posts you tag them in.

Why is Instagram restricting my actions?

Action blocks are typically caused by the exceeded number of actions you perform in a window of time — per hour or day. Once you exceed the allowed hourly or daily actions limits, your actions get blocked by Instagram.

What is the difference between Block and restrict on Instagram?

When you designate someone as “restricted,” their comments are only visible to you and them unless they are approved. But unlike blocking, the person who is restricted won’t have any indication that their comments are being screened (unless they have a finsta or some other way to view a post from another account).